Image

So I am home, back in Nigeria, but I can say I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Barcelona and I learned a lot at Mobile World Congress last week.  Over 70,000 people attended the MWC according to the GSMA with visitors arriving from more than 200 countries.  The exhibit halls were large and packed at times but I was able to see what I wanted to see and meet with different companies and people that I wanted to connect with.

Image

The basic message of MWC in my opinion is the focus on interaction that takes place over mobile networks.  Being connected and having the ability to transact while on the go, having access to tailored content, viewing what you want when you want, sharing ones experiences on the fly, engaging in real-time was the biggest theme I noticed over and over again as I walked through the different halls and looked at the different exhibits. Operators are faced with growing expectations from their subscribers and are busy crafting strategies on how to meet the demand and subscriber expectations for a real-time connected experience that is seamless and affordable.

My hope for MWC 2014 is more of the MMIT team will be able to join me and next year MMIT can have its own kiosk showcasing our products and services.

Image

Kim Fraser is the COO of MMIT and has over 20 years of telecommunication/mobile experiences at companies in North America and Africa.  Kim can be reached at kim.f@mmitonline.com

